Civil   Criminal   Traffic   Home   Blacksburg  Victim/Witness

Cherokee County Magistrate's Court

P.O. Box 336
312 East Frederick Street
Gaffney, SC 29342
(864) 487-2533
Fax (864) 902-8425

Crystal Petty - Criminal Court Administrator
(864) 902-2382  Fax (864) 902-8425

Ashley Greer - Criminal Court/Preliminary Hearing Div.
(864) 902-2384  Fax (864) 902-8425

Kim Porter - Criminal Court/Fraudulent Checks
(864) 902-2385  Fax (864) 902-8425

You must appear in court at the appointed time with your South Carolina drivers license if indicated in the violation block on the front side of the summons. ALL TIMES SHOWN ON THE SUMMONS ARE IN MILITARY TIME.
You may post a cash bond with the appropriate trial officer's office prior to the assigned date of trial. If you decide to mail in the bond rather than go to the office, mail MONEY  ORDER, CASHIER'S CHECK OR CERTIFIED CHECK made payable to the: The Cherokee County Magistrate Court at P.O. Box 336 Gaffney, S.C. 29342. DO NOT MAIL CASH OR PERSONAL CHECK. Be sure to enclose with the bond the arresting officer's name and the summons number.
You may appear in court on the assigned date and have a trial conducted by the magistrate.

THE POSTING OF BOND BEFORE YOUR ASSIGNED TRIAL DATE IN NO WAY AFFECTS YOUR RIGHT TO HAVE A FAIR TRIAL BY THE JUDGE OR, IF YOU MAKE A WRITTEN REQUEST AT LEAST FIVE WORKING DAYS BEFORE YOUR SCHEDULED TRIAL, BY JURY.

However, if you are NOT required to appear in court on the assigned trial date and have previously posted bond and do not appear on the trial date, your bond may be forfeited unless the judge has agreed to have your case heard at another time.

If you fail to post bond or personally appear on the assigned trial date, your home state's Motor Vehicle Division will be notified to suspend your license until you have cleared this matter with the trial court. Additionally, a willful failure to appear or post bond is punishable as a separate offense by a fine of up to $200.00 or imprisonment of up to 30 days.

If you do not agree with the outcome of the trial, you must send a notice of appeal to the clerk of court,  to the magistrate that heard the case, and to the opponent. This must be done within 30 days after the judgment in the case is made.

Notice of Appeal in pdf

 

Links


South Carolina Judicial Department

 

Civil   Criminal   Traffic   Home   Blacksburg  Victim/Witness

Civil   Criminal   Traffic   Home   Blacksburg  Victim/Witness

Civil   Criminal   Traffic   Home   Blacksburg  Victim/Witness